Recording Hours 8:00 a.m-12:00 p.m and 1:00 p.m-4:30 p.m
The County Clerk's Office records documents that affect title to real property located in Polk County. When a document is received for recording, it is checked for compliance with Oregon statutes. If a document cannot be recorded, it is returned to the sender with an explanation of what is wrong. As a document is recorded, an index is created and the image scanned for document retrieval.
This office is prohibited from:
•Giving legal advice
•Helping fill out documents
•Suggesting what type of documents to use
•Accepting illegible documents
•Recording documents other than those specified by Oregon and federal law
FIRST PAGE REQUIREMENTS:
The FIRST page shall contain the following information. If not on the first page, an additional fee of $20 will be charged (ORS 205.327). A cover sheet may be used when presenting the document for recording (ORS 205.234(2)).
- Title or Titles of the document clearly labeled. A document describing two or more transactions between the same parties and involving the same properties may be recorded when the document is labeled with the names of the transaction described therein (ORS 205.236). A fee of $5 shall be charged for recording each additional transaction.
- Names of the parties. Names of all parties must be listed on the first page. (ORS 205.234).
- Return to information: The name and address of the person to whom the document will be returned (ORS 205.180).
- Tax Statements. The name and address where tax statements should be sent (ORS 93.260). Required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title.
- Consideration. The true and actual consideration paid (ORS 93.030). Required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title.
- Lien amount. Total Lien amount needs to be on first page. (ORS 205.125(1) (c) and (e)).
- Assignee address: If a Mortgage or Deed of Trust is being assigned, the address of the assignee needs to be on the 1st page.(ORS 205.234(g)).
OTHER REQUIREMENTS (ORS 205.232):
- Space measuring 4 1/4" wide by 1 3/4" high in the upper right or lower right corner of the first page for recording label.
- The weight of the paper must be not less than 20 pound opaque paper.
- The paper must not be larger than 14" long and 8 1/2" wide.
- The printed or written text must be 8-point type or larger.
PREVENTING REJECTED DOCUMENTS:
Fees are correct - http://www.co.polk.or.us/clerk/recording/recording-fees
- Quality of document is good, and text is legible.
Room for the recording sticker on the first page of the document. A space of of 4 1/4" wide by 1 3/4" high is needed
Checks payable to Polk County Clerk and checks are signed.
Return address is located on first page of document. This only applies for documents being sent through the mail. It should read After Recording Mail to: then list address. Return envelopes not required, but appreciated.
Oregon notaries have noted the names of individuals signing and being notarized. All notaries need to make sure they are stamping or putting their notary seal on all documents being notarized.
Address to send documents for recording:
Polk County Courthouse
Attn: County Clerk
850 Main Street
Dallas, OR 97338
Make checks payable to: Polk County Clerk