# 2012-2013 POLK COUNTY COMPENSATION COMMITTEE May 16, 2012

# CALL TO ORDER AND NOTE OF ATTENDANCE

9:16 a.m., Commissioner Mike Ainsworth called the 2012-2013 Polk County Compensation Committee Hearing to order. Commissioner Wheeler, Commissioner Pope, Denny Wilfong, Norbert Hartmann, and Blair Wasson were also in attendance.

Staff Present: Greg Hansen, Budget Officer Heather Alvarez, Recording Secretary

The following minutes refer to the 2012-2013 Proposed Budget document and to the CD where the corresponding discussion was recorded. CDs of the proceedings are on file in the Board of Commissioners' Office.

#### SELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

MOTION: BLAIR WASSON MOVED, NORBERT HARTMANN SECONDED, TO NOMINATE DENNY WILFONG FOR CHAIRMAN OF THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE.

MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES – May 18, 2011

MOTION: BLAIR WASSON MOVED, NORBERT HARTMANN SECONDED, TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM MAY 18, 2011.

MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

# ELECTED OFFICIALS SALARY MEMO & RECOMMENDATION TO THE BUDGET COMMITTEE

Greg Hansen, Administrative Officer presented a memo summarizing his recommendations for the salaries of the Elected Officials. For the upcoming fiscal year, Mr. Hansen is recommending:

- The elected officials' receive the same COLA as the AFSCME bargaining unit (Sheriff received the same as the DSA) and the District Attorney receive no supplement
- Increase the Sheriff's expense allowance by \$100 and maintain incentive pay
- Increase Treasurer's monthly stipend by \$100
- Increase the BOC expense allowance by \$100
- Increase the Assessor's monthly stipend by \$50

Mr. Hansen went on to explain that in comparison to five surrounding counties, Polk County's salary for elected officials is as much as 14% below the average of the compared counties.

# MOTION: NORBERT HARTMANN MOVED, BLAIR WASSON SECONDED, TO ACCEPT MR. HANSEN'S ELECTED OFFICIAL'S SALARY RECOMMENDATIONS.

# MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Chairman Wilfong adjourned the meeting at 9:33 a.m.