Polk County Birth and Death Certificate Information
Phone: (503) 623-8175
Birth and death certificates for the first six months after the birth or death in Polk County can be ordered from:
Polk County Vital Records
182 SW Academy St., Ste. 302
Dallas, OR 97338
For your convenience, you may download the appropriate .pdf version from the "Supporting Documents" section below.
Birth and Death Certificates more than six months old, or outside of Polk County, can be ordered from:
Oregon Vital Records
PO Box 14050
Portland, OR 97293-0050
You may also download .pdf versions of the request forms for both birth and death certificates at the Oregon Public Health website.
Certified certificates are $20.00 for the first copy, and $15.00 for each additional copy of the certificate ordered.
*In accordance with law - ORS 432.120, in addition to one's own record, a Birth Record can be provided to immediate family members, a legal guardian or a legal representative. If you do not belong to one of these categories, Vital Records will require written permission with a notarized signature of an eligible person. The written consent must accompany the form. Legal guardians must enclose a copy of the legal document.
Access to Death Records filed in the State Vital Records office is restricted for 50 years after the date of the event to family members and their legal representatives, persons or organizations with a personal or property right, government agencies and persons licensed in Oregon under ORS 703.430. When ordering a birth or death record, you must state your relationship to the decedent, or your reason for needing the record. If you are a legal representative of a family member, include whom you represent and how they are related to the person named on the record. If you have a personal or property right, explain why you need the record. If you are not eligible to order the record, please include a permission note with the notarized signature of an eligible person.